Many different factors could affect the outcome of your drunk driving case. For example, courts look at various details when working through drunk driving cases, such as previous violations involving alcohol and injuries resulting from a drunk driving accident. In addition, it is important to understand how your blood alcohol content (BAC) level could affect the severity of the charges you face.
Drivers should keep in mind that various factors can influence their BAC level, such as their gender, weight and the number of drinks consumed. In addition, some drivers face serious repercussions as a result of faulty breath test results.
BAC levels, the legal limit and DUI penalties
The California Department of Motor Vehicles reports that it is unlawful for those over 21 to drive with a BAC level of .08 or above, while those under 21 can face drunk driving charges if their BAC level is .01 or greater. Those driving vehicles requiring a CDL cannot legally drive with a BAC level over .04.
In addition, an excessive BAC level, such as a reading over .15, could result in a drunk driver completing a DUI program that lasts over 9 months. Someone convicted of DUI with a BAC level over .20 could face the suspension of their license for 10 months.
Drunk driving charges with a BAC below the legal limit
You should realize that in California, DUI charges can arise even if you have a BAC reading below the legal limit. For example, if you display impairment while stopped by a law enforcement official, you could face charges without failing a breath test. If you face DUI charges, go over all of your options immediately.